FNESC is pleased to announce the rescheduled dates for the First Nations Languages Conference, which was postponed in in the fall of 2019 due to job action at the conference venue.  Thanks very much for your patience while we worked to sort out the details.   

First Nations Languages Conference
Xay Sts’itsáp – Carrying on the Sacred Work

February 24 -25, 2020

Pinnacle Harbourfront Hotel
1133 West Hastings Street, Vancouver

Updated Schedule

See the updated conference program (updated Feb. 6, 2020).  There have been a few changes to the workshop selections, so please contact us if you would like to make any workshop additions or changes.


Registration is currently full, but waitlisted individuals will be contacted if space becomes available.

Participant workshop choices have been carried over, and if there are any changes to the workshop scheduling we will contact you to make changes as necessary. 

$250 Regular, $150 Elder (60+), $150 Student with student card, $150 One Day, $0 Language Champion (recognized at past conference)

Refund Policy

Full refunds up to and including January 30, 2020, no refunds after.  Substitutions allowed.

Payment Options

Registration fees must be received by January 30, 2020. Unpaid registrations will be cancelled.

Cheques are payable to the First Nations Education Steering Committee. Mail to: First Nations Education Steering Committee, Suite 113 – 100 Park Royal South, West Vancouver V7T 1A2.  Important: Please indicate “Languages Conference” on the cheque.

Organizing Registration for a Group?  
Invoicing is available upon request.


Pinnacle Harbourfront Hotel, 1133 W. Hastings St., Vancouver

All participants must book accommodation by the deadline of January 30, 2020.  Please note that your original booking is not automatically carried forward.

Hotel Booking Link

The rate of $157 reflects a 25% room discount from the Pinnacle Hotel.

For guests who had to cancel a flight in October 2019 and incurred a flight cancellation fee, the Pinnacle has indicated that it will rebate the flight cancellation fee at the time of check-in.  Important: The hotel will require proof of flight cancellation and the flight cancellation receipt. 

Event Contact

For event questions, please contact:

Charleen Gulbrandsen, Administrative Assistant, First Nations Language and Culture
1-877-422-3672 or 604-925-6087 ext.129 charleeng@fnesc.ca